What is NAPLAN

The National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy, or NAPLAN, is a test that all students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9 sit. The tests are diagnostic – that means they test children on the essential skills they are taught throughout their education, rather than simply making them recall information.

The NAPLAN tests are made up from the four main areas of:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Language Conventions (spelling, grammar and punctuation)
  • Numeracy


In Years 3 and 5, students sit four tests. These cover numeracy, reading, writing and language conventions (spelling, punctuation and grammar). In Years 7 and 9 students sit 5 tests covering all of the above but with 2 tests for numeracy – one where calculators are allowed and one where they are not.


Students sit the NAPLAN tests in May each year and the test results and student reports are released in September. Test dates are as follows:



NAPLAN test period


09 – 11 May


15 – 17 May


14 – 16 May


12 – 14 May